Reynauld's Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Topics > HO-Scale Corner > Marklin Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Remote control of turnout with Marklin C-track

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bundesbahn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Remote control of turnout with Marklin C-track
    Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 12:58pm
Hello,

I am a novice with electronics. Currently setting up a Marklin C-track system and running 3 trains. My question whether the Marklin 60653 Mobile Station is compatible with the Viessmann switch motor to control turnouts.

Thank you,

RNG
Bundesbahn View Drop Down
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bundesbahn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 3:26pm
Hello Ram

Welcome to our Forum.

I need to know the model number of the Viessmann switch motor. They make more than one.

Do you actually talk about a 'switch motor' or a 'decoder'?

A switch motor aka turnout mechanism is actually not controlled by any control station. In analog operation you need to use a switch box, which is not connected to a control station at all.

In digital operation, you need a decoder hooked up the switch motor which then is controlled by the control station.
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bundesbahn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 3:38pm
Hello Choo Choo,

Thanks for your response. The Viessmann switch motor 4554 (Digital 2). Hope I got the model right!

Ram
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bundesbahn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 4:02pm
The Viessmann 4554 is a universal switch motor/decoder combination compatible with both, NMRA DCC and Maerlin Motorola MM protocols. So the answer is 'Yes'. The Viessmann 4554 is compatible with the Maerklin MS2 (60653)