Reynauld's Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Topics > Beginner's Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

I'm a beginner, M채rklin question

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ibtd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: I'm a beginner, M채rklin question
    Posted: 25 Feb 2016 at 10:48am
Hey all,

I am looking into starting the hobby and I have a few questions, especially regarding M채rklin. But first I gotta give a bit of background: I am from Germany, but am now living in the US. When I was young, my dad ran a M채rklin H0 scale model railroad at home. I always thought that M채rklin had really good quality and made things very easy to use. It basically felt like plug and play for the most part. I also need to admit that I have no idea (yet) about electrics in general, but I feel that will change when I start this.

Now the questions, and I'm sorry if these have obvious answers:

The US and Germany have different power outlets and every time I travel back I have to use an adapter for my electronic devices. Would I need an adapter of sorts or are there sets already manufactured specifically for the US area?

I eventually would like to run everything from a laptop or even a tablet. So should I start out with digital right away or is going the old-fashioned road better to start out?

Because of the 3-rail system that M채rklin uses, it sounds like there is no need to pay attention to loops and whatnot? Is a 2-rail system hard to understand and implement?

Again, sorry for all these questions for now and thanks in Advance!
RRVRR View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RRVRR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2016 at 2:15pm
Hi oder auch Hallo,
(viele hier verstehen zwar deutsch aber da wir in einem amerikanischen Forum sind bleiben die meisten beim Englisch).