Reynauld's Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Topics > Layout Showcase
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Simple Bavarian Branch Line - Early 1900's

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bahner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Simple Bavarian Branch Line - Early 1900's
    Posted: 12 Feb 2017 at 12:57am
This is my first attempt at a simple model railway. I've been inspired by many of the awesome builds on here!

Long story short, I recently inherited a few boxes of N scale locs, cars, parts, structures, etc. from a late 60's/early 70s build that unfortunately didn't make it past the initial track laying stage. About 90% is Arnold-Rapido and the rest Minitrix. Very little track survived, but I do have a small amount of Minitrix so that is what I went with for this project.

A Bavarian branch line (aka 'Lokalbahn') seemed appropriate as I used to live near the Bavarian Alps in the late 70's/early 80's and I fondly remember the many scenic train rides. Looking through some of the old booklets and manuals I had acquired, I found a simple Arnold Rapido layout that encompased many of the typical features that I associate with model railroads (mountains/hills, bridges, tunnels, lakes), but without a great deal of complexity.

I then converted the basic Arnold-Rapido layout to Minitrix ('old school' protractor and a compass...found out later that there are computer programs for this):

One of the unbuilt kits I have is a circa 1970s Kibri Alpine Village kit N7005. This was perfect fit for this layout, but the quality of the parts was a bit rough. However, a bit of tweaking/painting/aging and the village has 'come to life', so to speak:

For the station, I assembled/aged a Faller 'Stugl-Stuhls' laser-cut kit # 212120 (still needs a bit of touch-up):

All main buildings will be lit as well as the passenger cars (wherever possible).