Reynauld's Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Topics > Digital Trains
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Digital & analog Locos

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote orionstars Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Digital & analog Locos
    Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 1:25pm
For starters I'm a Digital newbie.

I'm looking at beginning an HOe project and think I would like to start off with a Roco starter set. On the store here I can get either the analog or digital.

My question is if I choose analog could I run digital/decoder equipped locomotives on it?

If I by the digital set would I be able to run analog locos on it? (without installing decoders that is.)

Thanks for the help,
pete
RRVRR View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote RRVRR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 4:06pm
Pete,
In general those are two worlds and the bridges between are thin.

Analog Locomotives on Digital
Some DCC Controllers in the old days have allowed  to control one DC loco to run on a digital layout but it was a risky compromise. The Address used was the "0". Some Loco's worked some not and I ended up ones burning out a motor what I had to replace. So my recommendation is not run analog locos on a digital layout even if the description would say you can. The new Z21 from Roco what newer starter packs now include has not such a feature as to my knowledge.
So the answer of this question would be mainly "no".

Digital Locomotives on Analog
Most new digital locos can run on an analog layout. There is a setting in the decoder (CV) that is usually set this way as a factory default. So the decoder senses if the track is powered analog or digital and adjust his behavior accordingly. Make sure you check before you buy it that the decoder has this feature, it is usually called "multi-protocol decoder".