Reynauld's Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Topics > Beginner's Corner
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z21 with PIKO switch
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Z21 with PIKO switch

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Alfred View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alfred Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z21 with PIKO switch
    Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 9:15pm
Hi all,

I have a Z21 digital unit which I would like to use with PIKO 55220 left switch. I also have a ROCO 10775 turnout decoder.

My question is what do I need in order to control the switch with Z21?
What is the module part number that moves the PIKO switch and works with Z21?

Thanks for your help.
Alfred
Back to Top
BR42 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Location: Auburn
Status: Offline
Points: 847
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BR42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2017 at 7:22am
Alfred:

Just hook the Piko switch up as you would connect a Roco switch.  Neither the decoder or the switch has any special hookups for brand/off-brand equpment.  For the decoder a solenoid machine is a solenoid machine regardless of brand/type, and vice-versa.

Ulrich 
Back to Top
el Gato Gordo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2013
Location: Colorado Spring
Status: Offline
Points: 659
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote el Gato Gordo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2017 at 7:48am
I am not sure whether a Tortoise switch machine will work. It requires current in two directions and needs constant power to keep the points against the rails.
Cheers!
Gordon
Rheinland Bayern Bahn
Back to Top
Alfred View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alfred Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2017 at 9:25am
Thanks you all.
Since I don't have the electric switch motor part to move the PIKO 55220 switch, should I order the Piko 55271 electric switch motor or is there any other electric switch motor I should get in order to work with the ROCO set I have?
Back to Top
Railwriter View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2013
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Points: 548
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Railwriter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2017 at 10:39am
As others have pointed out, the Roco decoder will work witn any solenoid type switch motor.  So, get the Piko switch motor that is designed for that switch.  Though other types of switch motors may work, using one from Piko that is intended for that switch will make installation much easier.

-- Ernest
Back to Top
Alfred View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alfred Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2017 at 5:30pm
Thanks
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.17
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 1.484 seconds.