Reynauld's Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Topics > Digital Trains > General Information
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Roco Z21 DCC System Help ?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Roco Z21 DCC System Help ?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Bundesbahn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bundesbahn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Roco Z21 DCC System Help ?
    Posted: 07 Nov 2013 at 10:23am
Dear Sirs,

I would like to replace my actual DCC system. I am looking to purchase the Roco Z21 DCC system and I really like the specs.

The Z21 is just an interface controller or it' s a complete DCC system with his own power unit ?
or I need an additional extra power unit booster ?

It is a expensive unit and I need to be a 100% sure if it will work with my N layout. 90% of my locos are Fleischmann with sound decoders and Minitrix. I have just a couple Kato Locos with MRC sound decoders.

Kind Regards,

BigFer.


Back to Top
BR42 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Location: Auburn
Status: Offline
Points: 862
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BR42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2013 at 10:54am
Dear BigFer,

The Z21 has a built in booster which delivers 3A. The voltage can be adjusted between 12V and 24V.  I would suggest using 12V for N-scale.  I have looked at the system, and plan to use it to replace my current Digitrax command station.  I highly recommend it.  You might also be able to continue using some components of your old control system as a booster and/or throttle if it is a Lenz or a Roco  system.

Ulrich
Back to Top
Bundesbahn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bundesbahn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 2:59am
Thanks Ulrich,

Additional question. System Z21 works in USA ( 110-120 V ) ?

Thanks.

Bifger
Back to Top
BR42 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Location: Auburn
Status: Offline
Points: 862
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BR42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 6:36am
Dear Bigfer,

It is my understanding that the power supply coming with the system works on all voltages between 110 and 240V since it is solid state like power supplies for laptops.

Ulrich
Back to Top
el Gato Gordo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2013
Location: Colorado Spring
Status: Offline
Points: 710
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote el Gato Gordo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2014 at 10:03am

Some additional info:

I have the Z21 system, here in the US of A, and it works well.  I have several Fleischmann, Trix and Kato units, some with sound, some without.  They all run superbly with the Z21 system.

What you get: The command center (sort of a CPU for the trains), a wireless router, various cords, and an instruction book that shows you how to hook up and tells the things that you can do (but not necessarily how to do them.  But since you are already running DCC (and are not a total novice as was I) you should have no difficulty, since you already know about CV's and Functions ~ which I didn't.  If you have any questions, feel free to PM me or extend this thread.

What you don't get: a controller.  But if you have a smart phone or tablet (either iPad or Android based) or a previous controller, then you don't need to buy anything new.  For me, a Luddite, this gave me an excuse to buy a tablet and peripherally join the 21st century....

Although I personally had a number of hiccups due solely to my inexperience with digital, I highly recommend the Z21.

Gute Reise,

Gordon

Back to Top
jverne View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Apr 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jverne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2015 at 3:07pm
I'm looking for someone in Southern California who would be willing to work with a fellow Z21 owner to troubleshoot his layout and see why he is having issues with his turnout controls. This help would be well compensate for.
Thanks,
John
323-292-1678

John
SCTC
Back to Top
el Gato Gordo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2013
Location: Colorado Spring
Status: Offline
Points: 710
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote el Gato Gordo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2015 at 4:01pm
Hi, John -

A few questions about your layout. 

1.   What kind of track and turnouts are you using?
2.   What type/brand of turnout motors?
3.   Are you trying to control the turnouts digitally, or directly by turnout switches?
4.   What is your power source for the turnout motors?

Colorado is a bit too far for hands on help, but folks on the wire here may be able to help you get the problems ironed out.

On my N scale layout I am using Tortoise motors (which require two identical transformers) to control my PECO turnouts on the main line.  I control them with ordinary single pole, double throw toggle switches.

On my spur, which is Fleischmann Piccolo track, I am using the Fleishmann motors, which require a single transformer, but a double throw, momentary contact switch.  For these, I am using Atlas turnout switches.

I don't have the requisite attention span to control all my trains AND all my turnouts with my Z21 system.  Thus my trains are controlled by Tablet, via Z21, and the turnouts by a diagrammed set of electrical switches.

So, tell us some more about your system, and perhaps we can help.

Cheers & beers!
Gordon
Back to Top
reynauld1963 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 167
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reynauld1963 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2015 at 9:10pm
John do live in LA?  I can check to see if we have any experts in your area.

Thanks

Rey
Back to Top
jverne View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Apr 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jverne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2015 at 5:20pm
Rey, Yes I do live in Los Angeles.
Thanks,
John
John
SCTC
Back to Top
reynauld1963 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 167
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reynauld1963 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Oct 2015 at 9:19pm
Ok will see if I can find you someone.

Thanks

Rey
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.17
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 1.047 seconds.